Costs & Funding
Costs

Before Coming to Lower Saxony

Even before you actually begin your studies in Lower Saxony, you will have certain expenses. This is especially relevant for applicants from Non-EU-countries. These are the most important costs you should expect:

When you apply to a university, you will usually have to pay processing fees for the evaluation of your application documents. The fee is determined by the university and depends also on the required application process:

If you can apply directly to the university, you should expect a processing fee of 40 to 75 Euro

If your university of choice cooperates with uni-assist, the evaluation of your application documents will cost 75 Euro. For each additional application via uni-assist in the same application semester, you will have to pay another 30 Euro.

In addition, you should expect possible fees for the notarisation and/or translation of your certificates and other documents.

For more detailed information on the application process, see Application (EU) or Application (Non-EU)

For the application to a university in Lower Saxony, you will usually have to prove that your German language skills are good enough to study in Germany. You can prove this e. g. by providing a Goethe-Zertifikat C2 or the Deutsche Sprachdiplom II. Additionally, there are three German exams especially for university admission:

  • TestDaF
    The Test Deutsch als Fremdsprache ("Test for German as a Foreign Language, or "TestDaF" for short) can be taken in about 100 countries around the world. Exam fees are between 90 and 175 Euro.  

  • DSH
    The Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang ("German language examination for university admission", or "DSH" for short) can be taken only in Germany. Exam fees are between 70 and 160 Euro

  • Telc Deutsch C1 Hochschule
    The exam telc Deutsch C1 Hochschule can be taken in more than 3.000 examination centres worldwide. Examination fees are roughly between 140 und 215 Euro.

Find more information on language requirements and details about possible language certificates here.

If you are a citizen of a non-EU-country, you will probably need a visa to enter Germany. For the visa application, you should expect visa fees of up to 75 Euro. Additionally, you may have to pay fees for the notarisation and/or translation of your certificates and other documents. Please contact the German Foreign Office or the German Mission Abroad (Embassy/Consulate) in your home country for details. 

You will also find further information on visa requirements and the application process here.

To successfully apply for a visa or residence permit, you will need a proof of financial resources. With this, you guarantee that you have sufficient funds to pay for your studies in Germany.

For the first year of your studies, you must have at least 8.640 Euro at your disposal. For shorter stays, 720 Euro per month in Germany are required.  

As proof, you can e. g. put the required amount of money into a blocked account. You can then withdraw a fixed monthly rate from this account while you are in Germany. The fee for opening a blocked account is between 50 and 150 Euro. Find more information here.

To study in Lower Saxony, you will have to prove that you have health insurance that is valid in Germany for the duration of your stay. Should you need a visa to enter Germany, you will already need the certificate of insurance when applying for the visa. Otherwise, you will be required to provide a proof of your health insurance when you enrol at university.

Students from EU-countries as well as from several other countries will not need additional health insurance, since the insurance valid in their home country will also be accepted in Germany. Private health insurance may be recognised as well. Please contact your health insurance company at home, or the International Office of your university of choice to find out which options you have concerning health insurance.

Should your foreign health insurance not be recognised, or should you not have health insurance in your home country, you will have to take out statutory or private health insurance in Germany. We recommend statutory health insurance, if you qualify for it.

For students, the contribution for statutory health insurance is about 85 Euro per month, provided that you are under 30 years of age and have not studied more than 14 semesters yet. If you do not qualify for student health insurance, you will have to take out private health insurance. This will cost you at least 160 Euro per month.

Find more information on health insurance and medical care in Lower Saxony here.

Last updated: August 2018

During Your Studies

Which expenses should you expect during your studies? Get an overview with our list:

Generally, the state universities in Lower Saxony do not charge tuition fees. However, there are tuition fees for certain non-consecutive ("weiterbildende") Master's programmes, which provide further education in a different field of study and usually require at least one year of relevant job experience (often MBA programmes). 

Private universities will generally charge tuition fees for all of their study programmes. They vary from university to university, and from programme to programme, but you should expect tuition fees of several hundred Euro per month. Find out the exact costs in the description of your desired study programme in our Study Programme Search or on the university's website.

It is also important to note the distinction between tuition fees and the so-called "semester contribution" ("Semesterbeitrag"), which all students in Lower Saxony have to pay to their university each semester. For more information, see "Semester Contribution".

All university students have to pay a semester contribution when they first enrol at university, and before the start of each additional semester. This contribution usually includes administrative fees, a student union contribution, a social contribution, and the costs for a semester ticket, which allows students to use public transportation in the university town, and often also beyond, for the whole term. 

Depending on the university, semester contributions in Lower Saxony ranged from 185 to 430 Euro per semester in winter semester 2017/18. For the current amount, please check the website of your university of choice.

According to a Social Survey amongst students from 2016, conducted by the German National Association for Student Affairs ("Deutsches Studentenwerk" or "DSW" for short), students in Germany pay an average of 819 Euro per month on living expenses. This does not include possible tuition fees.

These costs are – on average – made up of the following components:

  • Rent and utilities: 323 Euro 
  • Food and drink: 168 Euro
  • Clothing: 42 Euro
  • Learning materials: 20 Euro
  • Car and/or public transportation: 94 Euro
  • Health insurance, medicals costs, medicine: 80 Euro
  • Telephone, Internet, radio/TV fees, postage: 31 Euro
  • Recreation, culture and sports: 61 Euro

Source: DSW/DZHW 21. Social Survey 

Small mishaps in everyday life can have serious financial consequences because in Germany, everyone who causes harm to others is legally required to pay compensation for damages. To avoid the risk of turning a bicycle accident or a lost key to the student residence into a financial disaster for you, you should get private liability insurance for the duration of your stay in Germany. It costs about 50 to 60 Euro a year and compensates others for possible damages you have caused them. 

For more information on liability insurance please ask your International Office.

In some cases, further formalities may be necessary, which can incur additional fees:

  • Applying for a Residence Permit 
    If you are not a citizen of the EU, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway or Switzerland, you will have to apply for a residence permit after your arrival in Lower Saxony. The first application costs 100 Euro, the fee for an extension request is also approximately 100 Euro. For the exact costs, please contact the Foreigners' Registration Office at your place of residence in Lower Saxony.

  • Converting your Driving Licence 
    If you wish to drive a car while you are in Germany, and if you are not from the EU, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway, you will need a German driving licence. As a rule, the driving licence issued in your home country will not be recognized for more than six months.
    After this period, you will have to get your foreign driving licence converted into a German licence. Please contact the driving licence authority of your place of residence in Germany for more details. They will also tell you the exact costs. In any case, you should expect a fee of 35 to 50 Euro. Additional costs may possibly arise, e. g. for the translation of your old driving licence, a clearance certificate, medical reports, or driving tests.

Last updated: August 2018

Kosten & Finanzierung
Kosten

Vor der Einreise

Schon bevor der Studienaufenthalt in Niedersachsen so richtig losgeht, fallen einige Ausgaben an. Dies betrifft besonders Studieninteressierte aus Nicht-EU-Ländern. Wir haben die wichtigsten möglichen Kostenpunkte für Sie zusammengefasst:

Bei der Bewerbung an den Hochschulen fallen in der Regel Gebühren für die Bearbeitung Ihrer Bewerbungsunterlagen an. Die Höhe der Gebühren variiert von Hochschule zu Hochschule und hängt auch vom erforderlichen Bewerbungsverfahren ab:

Wenn Sie sich direkt bei der Hochschule bewerben können, sollten Sie mit Bearbeitungsgebühren zwischen 40 und 75 Euro rechnen. 

Falls Ihre Wunschhochschule festlegt, dass Sie sich über uni-assist um einen Studienplatz bewerben müssen, werden für die Überprüfung Ihrer Unterlagen 75 Euro Bearbeitungsgebühr fällig. Jede weitere Bewerbung über uni-assist im selben Semester kostet je 30 Euro zusätzlich. 

Darüber hinaus sollten Sie eventuell anfallende Gebühren für die Beglaubigung und/oder Übersetzung Ihrer Zeugnisse und Nachweise einplanen. 

Ausführliche Informationen zum Bewerbungsablauf finden Sie im Bereich Bewerbung (EU) oder Bewerbung (Non-EU)

Für Ihre Hochschulbewerbung müssen Sie in den meisten Fällen nachweisen, dass Ihre Deutschkenntnisse gut genug für ein Studium in Deutschland sind. Dies kann z. B. durch ein Goethe-Zertifikat C2 oder das Deutsche Sprachdiplom II geschehen. Außerdem gibt es drei Deutschtests speziell für die Hochschulzulassung:  

  • TestDaF
    Der Test Deutsch als Fremdsprache (kurz: TestDaF) kann in rund 100 Ländern abgelegt werden. Die Testgebühren liegen zwischen 90 und 175 Euro

  • DSH
    Die Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang (kurz: DSH) kann nur in Deutschland abgelegt werden. Die Prüfungsgebühren betragen zwischen 70 und 160 Euro.
     
  • Telc Deutsch C1 Hochschule
    Die Prüfung telc Deutsch C1 Hochschule kann weltweit in über 3.000 Prüfungszentren abgelegt werden. Die Prüfungsgebühren liegen in etwa zwischen 140 und 215 Euro

Mehr Informationen zu den sprachlichen Studienvoraussetzungen und Details zu möglichen Sprachnachweisen finden Sie hier

Falls Sie aus einem Nicht-EU-Land kommen, benötigen Sie für die Einreise nach Deutschland eventuell ein Visum. Dafür fallen bis zu 75 Euro Visumsgebühren an. Außerdem können Gebühren für die Beglaubigung und/oder Übersetzung Ihrer Zeugnisse und Nachweise fällig werden. Details erhalten Sie beim Auswärtigen Amt oder der deutschen Auslandsvertretung (Botschaft/Generalkonsulat) in Ihrem Heimatland. 

Ausführlichere Informationen zum Thema Visum finden Sie außerdem hier

Für die Beantragung eines Visums oder einer Aufenthaltserlaubnis wird unter anderem ein Finanzierungsnachweis benötigt. Damit garantieren Sie, dass Sie genügend Geld haben, um Ihren Studienaufenthalt finanziell abzusichern.

Für das erste Studienjahr müssen Sie nachweislich über mindestens 8.640 Euro verfügen. Bei kürzeren Aufenthalten müssen 720 Euro pro Monat in Deutschland nachgewiesen werden.  

Der Nachweis kann z. B. in Form eines Sperrkontos erbracht werden. Von diesem Konto können Sie Ihr Geld dann während des Aufenthalts in monatlichen Raten abheben. Für die Eröffnung eines Sperrkontos fallen 50 bis 150 Euro Gebühren an. Ausführlichere Informationen erhalten Sie hier.

Um in Niedersachsen studieren zu dürfen, müssen Sie nachweisen, dass Sie für die Dauer des Studienaufenthalts eine in Deutschland gültige Krankenversicherung besitzen. Falls Sie für die Einreise nach Deutschland ein Visum benötigen, wird der Versicherungsnachweis bereits beim Visumsantrag fällig, ansonsten reicht es aus, den Nachweis bei der Einschreibung an der Hochschule vorzulegen.

Studierende aus EU-Ländern sowie aus einigen anderen Staaten benötigen keine zusätzliche Versicherung, da die in ihrem Heimatland gültige Krankenversicherung auch in Deutschland anerkannt wird. Auch private Krankenversicherungen können unter Umständen anerkannt werden. Lassen Sie sich hierzu am besten von Ihrer Krankenkasse im Heimatland oder dem International Office Ihrer Wunschhochschule beraten.

Falls Sie Ihre ausländische Krankenversicherung nicht anerkennen lassen können oder im Heimatland keine Krankenversicherung besitzen, müssen Sie eine gesetzliche oder private Krankenversicherung in Deutschland abschließen. Empfehlenswert ist der Beitritt in eine gesetzliche Krankenkasse.

Der Beitrag für die gesetzliche Krankenversicherung beträgt für Studierende ca. 85 Euro im Monat, sofern Sie noch unter 30 Jahren sind und das 14. Semester nicht überschritten haben. Danach ist nur noch eine private Versicherung möglich. Die Kosten dafür liegen bei mindestens 160 Euro monatlich.  

Ausführlichere Informationen zum Thema Krankenversicherung und der medizinischen Versorgung in Niedersachsen erhalten Sie hier

Stand: November 2018

Während des Studiums

Mit welchen Ausgaben muss man während des Studiums rechnen? Mit unserer Liste können Sie sich einen ersten Überblick verschaffen:
 

Für das Studium an einer staatlichen Hochschule in Niedersachsen fallen in der Regel keine Studiengebühren an. Eine Ausnahme stellen die sogenannten weiterbildenden Masterstudiengänge (häufig MBA) dar. 

An privaten Hochschulen werden hingegen generell Studiengebühren erhoben. Sie variieren je nach Hochschule und Studienangebot, und betragen im Regelfall mehrere Hundert Euro pro Monat. Die genauen Kosten erfahren Sie in der Beschreibung Ihres Wunschstudiengangs in unserer Studiengangssuche oder auf den Websites der Hochschulen.

Von den Studiengebühren zu unterscheiden ist jedoch der sogenannte "Semesterbeitrag", den alle Studierenden in Niedersachsen an ihre Hochschule bezahlen müssen. (Mehr dazu unter "Semesterbeitrag".) 

Alle Studierenden müssen bei der Einschreibung und vor Beginn jedes weiteren Semesters einen Semesterbeitrag zahlen. Dieser enthält in der Regel Verwaltungsgebühren, Beiträge für die Studierendenvereinigung, soziale Beiträge und ein Semesterticket, mit dem Studierende den Nahverkehr der Hochschulstadt und oft auch darüber hinaus nutzen dürfen. 

Je nach Hochschule betrug der Semesterbeitrag in Niedersachsen im Wintersemester 2017/18 zwischen 185 und 430 Euro pro Semester. Die genaue Höhe des aktuellen Beitrags erfahren Sie bei Ihrer Wunschhochschule. 

Laut einer Erhebung des Deutschen Studentenwerks gaben Studierende in Deutschland im Jahr 2016 durchschnittlich 819 Euro pro Monat für ihre Lebenshaltungskosten aus. Eventuell anfallende Studiengebühren sind dabei nicht eingerechnet.

Die Kosten setzen sich - durchschnittlich - aus folgenden Bestandteilen zusammen: 

  • Miete und Nebenkosten: 323 Euro 
  • Ernährung: 168 Euro
  • Kleidung: 42 Euro
  • Lernmittel: 20 Euro
  • Auto und/oder öffentliche Verkehrsmittel: 94 Euro
  • Krankenversicherung, Arztkosten, Medikamente: 80 Euro
  • Telefon, Internet, Rundfunk-/Fernsehgebühren, Porto: 31 Euro
  • Freizeit, Kultur und Sport: 61 Euro

 Quelle: DSW/DZHW 21. Sozialerhebung

Kleine Missgeschicke im Alltag können schwerwiegende finanzielle Folgen haben, denn in Deutschland ist jeder, der einem anderen einen Schaden zufügt, gesetzlich zu Schadensersatz verpflichtet. Damit z. B. ein Fahrradunfall oder ein verlorener Wohnheimschlüssel Sie nicht in den finanziellen Ruin treiben, sollten Sie für Ihren Aufenthalt in Deutschland unbedingt eine private Haftpflichtversicherung abschließen. Diese kostet nur etwa 50 bis 60 Euro pro Jahr und zahlt dafür im Schadensfall für Schäden, die Sie bei anderen verursacht haben. 

Mehr Informationen zum Thema Haftpflichtversicherung erhalten Sie hier, oder Sie lassen sich von Ihrem International Office beraten.

Unter Umständen können weitere Formalitäten notwendig werden, für die zusätzliche Gebühren anfallen:

  • Beantragung einer Aufenthaltserlaubnis 
    Falls Sie nicht aus der EU, Island, Liechtenstein, Norwegen oder der Schweiz kommen, müssen Sie nach der Ankunft in Niedersachsen eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis  beantragen. Für die erste Beantragung werden mindestens 100 Euro Gebühren erhoben, ein Verlängerungsantrag kostet ebenfalls rund 100 Euro. Die genauen Kosten erfragen Sie am besten direkt bei der Ausländerbehörde Ihres Studienortes in Niedersachsen. 

  • Führerschein umschreiben lassen 
    Falls Sie in Deutschland Auto fahren möchten und nicht aus einem Land der EU, Island, Liechtenstein oder Norwegen kommen, benötigen Sie eine deutsche Fahrerlaubnis. Ihr im Ausland erworbener Führerschein wird in den meisten Fällen nach sechs Monaten nicht mehr anerkannt.
    Sie müssen dann Ihre ausländische Fahrerlaubnis in einen deutschen Führerschein umschreiben lassen. Wenden Sie sich dafür bitte an die Fahrerlaubnisbehörde Ihres Wohnortes in Deutschland. Dort erfahren Sie auch die genauen Kosten für die Umschreibung. Mit 35 bis 50 Euro Gebühren sollten Sie aber in jedem Fall rechnen. Außerdem können weitere Kosten für die Übersetzung Ihres alten Führerscheins, ein Führungszeugnis, ärztliche Gutachten oder Fahrprüfungen entstehen.

Stand: August 2018