How to Apply (Non-EU)
Visa

Who Needs a Visa to Enter Germany?

If you are from a non-EU country and are not affected by one of the exemptions listed below, you will definitely need a visa to enter Germany. You will have to apply for the visa at the German embassy or consulate in your home country before coming to Germany.

N.B.! Due to long waiting and processing periods, it can take months for a visa to be issued. You should therefore apply for your visa very early on.

Who Does Not Need a Visa if Certain Conditions Apply?

Generally, all non-EU citizens need a visa to enter Germany. However, there are a number of exemptions and facilitations, depending on the stay's purpose and duration, and on the country of origin. Please check whether the following cases apply to your intended stay and your country of origin:
 

Nationals of Andorra, Brasil, El Salvador, Honduras, Monaco and San Marino do not need a visa, if they do not intend to take up gainful employment throughout their stay. Certain study-related employments are exempt from this regulation. If you are planning to stay longer than three months, you need to apply for a residence permit at the Foreigners' Registration Office of your place of residence in Germany within the first 90 days of your stay.

Nationals of the following countries do not need a visa to enter Germany, if their stay does not exceed three months (90 days) and if they do not intend to take up gainful employment: 

  • Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, Grenada, Guatemala, Kiribati, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City and Venezuela.

  • Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Georgia, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro and Ukraine, provided that they are in possession of a biometric passport.

  • Hong Kong, Macau, Peoples' Republic of China, Serbia and Taiwan, provided that they are in possession of a passport with certain properties. Please enquire the details from the responsible diplomatic mission abroad.

N.B.! Your stay cannot be extended if you have entered Germany without a visa. You will definitely have to leave the country after three months (90 days).

If you are a national of the aforementioned countries and you are planning to stay longer than three months, and/or to take up gainful employment in Germany, you will have to apply for a National Visa before entering the country.

Who Does Not Need a Visa at All?

If you are a citizen of an EU member state, of an EEA member state (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) or of Switzerland, you do not need a visa to enter Germany. A valid ID or passport will be sufficient. After entering the country, you will have to register with your local Residents' Registration Office ("Einwohnermeldeamt") within the first 90 days of your stay.

Citizens of these states do not need a visa to enter Germany. If you are planning to stay longer than three months, you will have to apply for a residence permit at your local Foreigners' Registration Office within the first 90 days in Germany.

Important Notice

Please note that all the information here regarding visa requirements have been put together with due diligence, but are subject to change. Last updated: October 2018.

You will find a definitive list of all countries that are required to apply for a visa on the website of the German Foreign Office:

Finding the Right Type of Visa


If you are planning to stay longer than three months, do under no circumstances enter Germany with a so-called "Schengen-Visa" (also "Tourist Visa"). This type of visa cannot be extended or converted into a residence permit for studying purposes. When entering Germany with a Schengen-Visa, you will definitely have to leave the country after 90 days!

For longer stays, apply for a so-called "National Visa" instead. Depending on whether you have already been accepted by a university or not, there are two possibilities:

If you have not yet been admitted to study at a university in Lower Saxony or to Niedersächsisches Studienkolleg, you should apply for an Applicant Visa ("Visum zum Zweck der Studienbewerbung" §16 (1a) German Residence Act). 

This allows you to enter Germany for three months, in order to meet the admission requirements for a study programme in Germany (e. g. taking a German course). You may extend your visa for up to another six months, if the original period turns out to be too short to meet the requirements. Overall, the maximum length of the stay for application purposes is nine months.

If you are admitted to a university or to Niedersächsisches Studienkolleg within this period, you can apply to your local Foreigners' Registration Office to have your visa converted into a residence permit for study purposes.

If you have already received your admission to a university or to Niedersächsisches Studienkolleg, you should apply for a Student Visa ("Nationales Visum für den Aufenthalt zu Studienzwecken" § 16 (1) German Residence Act). This type of visa is usually issued for the duration of three months. Within this period, you will have to apply for a residence permit at your local Foreigners' Registration Office.

How to Apply for a Visa

Once you have determined that you need a visa, and which type of visa is right for you, you should apply to the German embassy or consulate in your home country as early as possible. Usually, you will have to make an appointment with your German mission. Please be aware that you may have to wait for a couple of weeks before you can get an appointment!

It is advisable to contact your German mission in advance, to find out which documents will be need for the application, and whether you will be required to present certified translations of certain documents. As a rule, you will be asked for the following documents (and translations, if necessary):

For a student visa you will also need:

Or for an applicant visa: 

Got it?

In this video, Ana from Brasil gives you a summary of what you need to know about visa application:

Video: © DAAD/Study in Germany - Land of Ideas

How to Apply (Non-EU)
Visa

Wer braucht ein Visum für die Einreise nach Deutschland?

Wenn Sie aus einem Nicht-EU-Land kommen und nicht von einer der unten aufgeführten Ausnahmeregelungen betroffen sind, benötigen Sie zwingend ein Visum, um nach Deutschland einreisen zu dürfen. Das Visum muss vor der Einreise bei der zuständigen deutschen Auslandsvertretung in Ihrem Herkunftsland eingeholt werden.

Achtung! Da es zu längeren Warte- oder Bearbeitungszeiten kommen kann, sollten Sie Ihr Visum unbedingt sehr frühzeitig vor der geplanten Einreise beantragen.

Wer braucht unter bestimmten Bedingungen kein Visum?

Grundsätzlich benötigen alle Nicht-EU-Ausländer ein Visum, wenn sie nach Deutschland einreisen möchten. Es gibt jedoch einige Ausnahmen und Erleichterungen der Visumspflicht, die sich nach Zweck und Dauer des Aufenthalts richten. Bitte überprüfen Sie sehr sorgfältig, ob einer der folgenden Fälle auf Sie zutrifft und für Ihr Herkunftsland gilt:
 

Staatsangehörige von Andorra, Brasilien, El Salvador, Honduras, Monaco und San Marino benötigen für die Einreise nach Deutschland kein Visum, sofern sie während ihres Aufenthalts keine Erwerbstätigkeit ausüben wollen. Gewisse studienbegleitende Tätigkeiten sind von dieser Regelung ausgenommen. Wenn ein Aufenthalt geplant ist, der länger als drei Monate dauern soll, muss innerhalb der ersten 90 Tage des Aufenthalts eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis bei der Ausländerbehörde des Wohnorts in Deutschland beantragt werden.

Für die Angehörigen der folgenden Staaten gibt es unter bestimmten Bedingungen Ausnahmeregelungen, das heißt, es ist kein Visum für die Einreise erforderlich, wenn der Aufenthalt nicht länger als drei Monate dauert und keine Arbeit aufgenommen wird: 

  • Antigua und Barbuda, Argentinien, Bahamas, Barbados, Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Costa Rica, Dominica, Grenada, Guatemala, Kiribati, Kolumbien, Malaysia, Marshall-Inseln, Mauritius, Mexiko, Mikronesien, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Salomonen, Samoa, Seychellen, Singapur, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & Grenadinen, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tuvalu, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatikanstadt, Venezuela und Vereinigte Arabische Emirate.

  • Albanien, Bosnien-Herzegowina, Georgien, Mazedonien, Moldau, Montenegro und Ukraine, sofern Sie einen biometrischen Reisepass besitzen.

  • Hongkong, Macau, Serbien und Taiwan, sofern Sie einen Pass mit besonderen Eigenschaften besitzen. Bitte erfragen Sie die Details hierzu bei Ihrer zuständigen Auslandsvertetung.

Achtung! Die Aufenthaltsfrist kann bei der visumsfreien Einreise nicht verlängert werden, das heißt, nach Ablauf der drei Monate muss auf jeden Fall die Ausreise aus Deutschland erfolgen.

Wenn Sie also aus einem der hier genannten Länder kommen und einen Aufenthalt planen, der länger als drei Monate dauern soll, und/oder falls Sie in Deutschland arbeiten möchten, dann muss vor der Einreise zwingend ein Nationales Visum beantragt werden.

Wer braucht kein Visum?

Wenn Sie Bürgerin oder Bürger eines EU-Staats, eines EWR-Staats (Island, Liechtenstein, Norwegen) oder der Schweiz sind, benötigen Sie für die Einreise nach Deutschland kein Visum. Es genügt ein gültiger Ausweis oder Reisepass. Nach der Einreise müssen Sie sich innerhalb von drei Monaten beim Einwohnermeldeamt registrieren. 

Angehörige dieser Staaten benötigen für die Einreise nach Deutschland kein Visum. Wenn Ihr Aufenthalt länger als drei Monate dauern soll, müssen Sie jedoch innerhalb der ersten 90 Tage Ihres Aufenthalts eine gültige Aufenthaltserlaubnis bei der Ausländerbehörde Ihres Wohnortes beantragen.

Wichtiger Hinweis

Bitte beachten Sie, dass wir für die hier aufgeführten Informationen zu den Einreisebestimmungen trotz
größter Sorgfalt bei der Zusammenstellung keine Gewähr leisten können.

Eine verbindliche Liste der visumspflichtigen Staaten finden Sie auf der Website des Auswärtigen Amts:

Das richtige Visum finden


Wenn Sie einen Studienaufenthalt von mehr als drei Monaten planen, reisen Sie auf keinen Fall mit einem sogenannten "Schengen-Visum" (auch "Touristen-Visum") ein. Es kann nicht verlängert oder in eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis für Studienzwecke umgewandelt werden. Mit einem Schengen-Visum müssen Sie nach Ablauf der Gültigkeitsdauer von 90 Tagen also definitiv das Land verlassen!

Beantragen Sie für längere Aufenthalte stattdessen ein sogenanntes "Nationales Visum". Je nachdem, ob Sie bereits eine Studienplatzzusage haben oder nicht, gibt es zwei Möglichkeiten:

Wenn Sie noch keine Zulassung von einer niedersächsischen Hochschule oder einem Studienkolleg erhalten haben, beantragen Sie am besten ein "Visum zum Zweck der Studienbewerbung" (§ 16 Abs. 1a AufenthaltG) – auch "Studienbewerbervisum" genannt. 

Damit dürfen Sie für drei Monate einreisen, um in dieser Zeit die Zulassungsvoraussetzungen zum Studium zu erfüllen (z. B. einen Deutschkurs absolvieren). Falls diese Zeit nicht ausreicht, kann eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis für bis zu sechs weitere Monate beantragt werden. Die maximale Aufenthaltsdauer zur Studienbewerbung beträgt insgesamt also neun Monate.

Falls Sie während dieser Frist zum Studium oder zum Studienkolleg zugelassen werden, kann das Visum in der Ausländerbehörde Ihres Wohnorts in Deutschland in eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis zu Studienzwecken umgewandelt werden.

Wenn Sie bereits die Zusage für einen Studienplatz oder einen Platz im Niedersächsischen Studienkolleg haben, beantragen Sie ein "Nationales Visum für den Aufenthalt zu Studienzwecken" (§ 16 Abs. 1 AufenthG) – kurz "Studierendenvisum". Es wird in der Regel für die Dauer von drei Monaten ausgestellt. Innerhalb dieser Frist müssen Sie bei der Ausländerbehörde Ihres Wohnortes in Deutschland eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis beantragen.

Visum beantragen

Wenn Sie ein Visum benötigen und wissen, welcher Typ für Sie der richtige ist, stellen Sie den Visumsantrag so früh wie möglich vor Ihrer geplanten Einreise bei der deutschen Botschaft oder dem Konsulat in Ihrem Heimatland. In der Regel müssen Sie dafür einen Termin mit der zuständigen deutschen Auslandsvertretung vereinbaren. Dies kann ebenfalls einige Wochen Wartezeit bedeuten!

Informieren Sie sich im Vorfeld auf der Website Ihrer deutschen Auslandsvertretung, welche Unterlagen Sie für die Beantragung des Visums mitbringen müssen und ob es nötig ist, bestimmte Dokumente beglaubigt übersetzen zu lassen. Die folgenden Unterlagen (ggf. in Übersetzung) sollten Sie in jedem Fall parat haben:

  • gültigen Reisepass
  • Nachweis über eine in Deutschland gültige Krankenversicherung
  • Finanzierungsnachweis
  • Nachweise über bisherige Studienleistungen, falls vorhanden
  • Deutsch-Sprachzertifikat oder Nachweis darüber, dass Sie in Deutschland an einem entsprechenden Sprachkurs teilnehmen werden
  • eventuell Gesundheitszeugnis.

Für ein Studierendenvisum benötigen Sie außerdem:

Oder für ein Studienbewerbervisum:

Alles klar?

Ana aus Brasilien fasst in diesem Video von Study in Germany noch einmal das Wichtigste zum Thema Visum zusammen: