How to Apply (Non-EU)
Niedersächsisches Studienkolleg

What is Niedersächsisches Studienkolleg?

Niedersächsisches Studienkolleg ("Lower Saxony Preparatory Foundation Course") is an institution at Leibniz University in Hannover. Here, prospective students (non-EU), who are not qualified for direct university admission on the basis of their school-leaving certificate, are prepared for their studies in Germany.

Generally, the foundation course takes two semesters. Language of instruction is German. At the end of the foundation course, course participants will have to take the University Entrance Examination. Passing this exam will qualify candidates for subject-restricted studies in Germany.
 

You cannot apply directly to Niedersächsisches Studienkolleg. Instead, send the application for your desired study programme to your university of choice or to uni-assist, if your university cooperates with this association. Visit your university's website to find out which application procedure applies to you.

If your application is successful, it will be forwarded from the university to Studienkolleg, and applicants will be invited to the Studienkolleg's entry exam, which takes place each February and September.

The entry exam at Niedersächsisches Studienkolleg consists of two parts. The first part tests your German language skills. Minimum requirement for being admitted to the foundation course at Niedersächsisches Studienkolleg is German level B1, according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). 

The second part tests maths skills or basic knowledge of the Humanities. The content of this part depends on the type of course you have chosen.

The higher you score in this entrance exam, the better your chances for a place in the foundation course. On the website of Niedersächsisches Studienkolleg you will find sample tests, which you can use to prepare for the exam.

Niedersächsisches Studienkolleg offers four different course types, to give applicants the ideal preparation for their desired field of study:

  • M-Course for Medicine, Pharmacy, Biology and related subjects
  • T-Course for Mathematics, Science, Technical and Engineering Programmes
  • W-Course for Economics, Business Administration and Social Sciences
  • G-Course for German, Arts and Humanities
    Applicants for the S-Course (Linguistics) attend the G-Course as well, but have to take an additional test in a foreign language.
N. B.: Choose your desired course type very carefully because a change of courses after the entry exam will not be possible. By completing the foundation course successfully, you earn the qualification for subject-restricted study. This qualifies you to study those subjects for which you have been prepared in the foundation course.

As a rule, the foundation course at Niedersächsisches Studienkolleg takes two semesters. Each semester may be repeated once. In case of excellent performance, it is also possible to reduce the course duration to one semester.

Depending on the course type, the weekly schedule consists of 30 to 32 lessons.

At the end of the foundation course, participants have to pass the University Entrance Examination or "Feststellungsprüfung". The exam is offered twice a year. It consists of two parts: a written and an oral examination. Depending on the course type, four or five subjects will be tested. In any case, there will be a German exam. 

By passing the University Entrance Examination, you will earn the qualification for subject-restricted study. This qualifies you to take up an undergraduate degree programme (Bachelor) in your chosen field of study.  However, before you can begin your studies, you have to re-apply for your desired study programme to your university of choice.

Attending Niedersächsisches Studienkolleg costs: 

  • 30 Euro registration fee for the entry exam
  • 250 Euro tuition fee (per semester)
  • ca. 300 Euro semester contribution (per semester)

Should you prefer to take the University Entrance Examination as an external applicant, you will have to pay a participation fee of 200 Euro. 

For the duration of the foundation course, participants have the status of students of Leibniz University Hannover. This means that participants, like students, have to pay the respective semester contribution (see above), but in return they will be able to use the semester ticket for free public transportation in the Hannover region and beyond. 

Foundation course participants also need health insurance. Unfortunately, participants cannot be part of the student health insurance, but will have to take a private insurance. Find the most important information on health insurance here.

All in all, average living costs add up to about 819 Euro per month. Since there are usually no scholarships for first-year-students, participants of the Studienkolleg will have to raise this amount by themselves. However, you may be eligible to apply for a scholarship in your home country.  

Last updated: October 2018

This is possible. To do so, you have to apply successfully to one of the universities in Lower Saxony. The university will then register you for the University Entrance Examination. For further information on exam prerequisites, deadlines, exam contents and exam organisation, visit the website of Niedersächsisches Studienkolleg.

How to Apply (Non-EU)
Niedersächsisches Studienkolleg

Das Niedersächsische Studienkolleg ist eine Einrichtung an der Leibniz Universität in Hannover. Hier werden Studieninteressierte (non-EU), die durch ihren im Herkunftsland erworbenen Schulabschluss nicht für einen direkten Hochschulzugang qualifiziert sind, auf ein Studium in Deutschland vorbereitet.

Die Kurse dauern in der Regel zwei Semester. Die Unterrichtssprache ist Deutsch. Am Ende des Studienkollegs steht die Feststellungsprüfung, mit deren Bestehen man die Qualifikation für ein fachgebundenes Studium in Deutschland nachweist.
 

Beim Niedersächsischen Studienkolleg können Sie sich nicht direkt bewerben. Stattdessen schicken Sie Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen an die niedersächsische Hochschule Ihrer Wahl bzw. an uni-assist, falls Ihre Wunschhochschule mit dieser Einrichtung kooperiert. Wo genau Sie sich bewerben müssen, erfahren Sie direkt bei den Hochschulen.

Sie werden dann von der Hochschule für den Aufnahmetest des Niedersächsischen Studienkollegs angemeldet.

Der Aufnahmetest des Niedersächsischen Studienkollegs besteht aus zwei Teilen. Im ersten Teil müssen Sie Ihre Deutschkenntnisse unter Beweis stellen. Die Mindestanforderung für die Teilnahme am Niedersächsischen Studienkolleg ist das Niveau B1 des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen (GeR). 

Im zweiten Testteil werden Mathematik oder geisteswissenschaftliche Grundkenntnisse abgeprüft. Dieser Teil variiert je nach gewähltem Kursschwerpunkt. 

Je besser Sie in der Aufnahmeprüfung abschneiden, desto besser sind Ihre Chancen auf einen Platz am Studienkolleg. Zur Vorbereitung finden Sie Probetests auf der Webseite des Niedersächsischen Studienkollegs. 

Das Niedersächsische Studienkolleg bietet vier verschiedene Kurstypen, um Sie optimal auf Ihre gewünschte Studienrichtung vorzubereiten:

  • M-Kurs für Medizin, Pharmazie, Biologie und verwandte Fächer
  • T-Kurs für Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaft und technische Fächer (z.B. Maschinenbau)
  • W-Kurs für Volkswirtschaftslehre, Betriebswirtschaftslehre und Sozialwissenschaften
  • G-Kurs für eine Geisteswissenschaft oder Germanistik
    Bewerber/innen für den S-Kurs (für Sprachwissenschaften) besuchen ebenfalls den G-Kurs, müssen aber ergänzend eine Prüfung in einer weiteren Fremdsprache ablegen.
Wichtig! Wählen Sie Ihren gewünschten Kurstyp sehr sorgfältig aus, da ein Kurswechsel nach dem Aufnahmetest nicht mehr möglich ist. Mit dem erfolgreichen Abschluss des Studienkollegs erwerben Sie dann eine fachgebundene Hochschulzugangsberechtigung, mit der Sie nur die Fächer studieren dürfen, auf die Sie am Studienkolleg vorbereitet wurden.

In der Regel dauert ein Vorbereitungskurs am Niedersächsischen Studienkolleg zwei Semester. Jedes Semester darf einmal wiederholt werden. Bei sehr guten Leistungen ist es außerdem möglich, die Kursdauer auf ein Semester zu verkürzen. 

Der Unterricht umfasst je nach Schwerpunkt zwischen 30 und 32 Unterrichtsstunden pro Woche. 

Die Kollegsausbildung endet mit der "Prüfung zur Feststellung der Studieneignung", kurz "Feststellungsprüfung" genannt. Die Prüfung wird zweimal im Jahr durchgeführt. Sie besteht aus einem schriftlichen und einem mündlichen Teil und umfasst je nach Kursschwerpunkt vier oder fünf Fächer. In jedem Fall beinhaltet die Prüfung einen Deutschtest. 

Mit Bestehen der Feststellungsprüfung erwerben Sie eine fachgebundene Hochschulzugangsberechtigung, mit der Sie ein grundständiges Studium (Bachelor) in Ihrem gewählten Fachbereich aufnehmen dürfen. Vor Aufnahme des Studiums müssen Sie sich allerdings erst noch einmal bei der Hochschule Ihrer Wahl für Ihren Wunschstudiengang bewerben. 

Für den Besuch des Niedersächsischen Studienkollegs fallen folgende Kosten an: 

  • 30 Euro Teilnahmegebühr für den Aufnahmetest
  • 250 Euro Studiengebühren (pro Semester)
  • ca. 300 Euro Semesterbeitrag (pro Semester)

Falls Sie als Externe/r die Feststellungsprüfung absolvieren möchten, wird eine Teilnahmegebühr in Höhe von 200 Euro fällig. 

Während des Kurses sind die Kollegiat/innen den Studierenden der Leibniz Universität Hannover gleichgestellt. Sie müssen also den entsprechenden Semesterbeitrag bezahlen (siehe oben), haben aber auch viele Vorteile: Sie können z.B. das Semesterticket nutzen, um kostenlos mit dem öffentlichen Personennahverkehr der Üstra oder vielen Nahverkehrszügen der Deutschen Bahn und anderen Anbietern in Niedersachsen zu fahren. 

Kollegiat/innen müssen außerdem eine Krankenversicherung abschließen. Eine Aufnahme in die studentische Krankenversicherung ist dabei leider nicht möglich. Mehr Informationen zum Thema Krankenversicherung finden Sie hier.

Für die übrigen Lebenshaltungskosten fallen pro Monat ca. 819 Euro an. Kollegiat/innen müssen für diesen Betrag selbst aufkommen. Bitte beachten Sie auch, dass es für Studienanfänger/innen keine Stipendien gibt. Eventuell können Sie aber in Ihrem Heimatland ein Stipendium beantragen. Hierzu sollten Sie sich möglichst frühzeitig informieren. 

(Stand: Juli 2018)

Auch das ist möglich. Sie müssen sich dazu erfolgreich bei einer niedersächsischen Hochschule beworben haben und werden dann von dieser zur Feststellungsprüfung angemeldet. Alle weiteren Informationen zu den Prüfungsvoraussetzung, den Fristen, den Inhalten und dem Ablauf erhalten Sie auf der Seite des Niedersächsischen Studienkollegs.